Discussion Stats

Got my grade for Week 5 and thought I’d share the statistics now that we’re half way through the class:

Still 11 people participating:

5 people posted 4 times

3 people posted 5 times

2 people posted 7 times (including me)

1 person posted 8 times

But what throws me are the “Posting Statistics for Hawthorne”

It says:

Average Post Length: 3084

Minimum Post Length: 1249

Maximum Post Length: 6021

Average Post Position: 4

But that’s not right – or even CLOSE  My longest post (my initial discussion one) was only 1,111 words.  My next six ranged in size from 59 words to 359.  I thought it might be some sort of rolling average but I went back and looked at Weeks 3 and 4 as well and the numbers are all over the place, with too wild of swings to be a rolling average.

Got me.

Thoughts? Comments? Share :-)